Committees of the Board

Admissions and Standards

Responsible for evaluating all applications for membership in the Association, this year the Admissions and Standards Committee reviewed and recommended approval of a record eight submissions. This included four Regular and four Affiliate applicants, among them two Introductory members who the committee concluded successfully had transitioned to permanent status. Per its charge, the committee also reviewed and made a recommendation regarding the category eligibility of an existing member of the Association.
Dennis Lloyd, Wisconsin, Chair
Lisa Bayer, Georgia
Anthony Cond, Liverpool
Jocelyn Dawson, Duke
Mary Dougherty, Massachusetts
Niko Pfund, Oxford
Peter Berkery, Central Office Liaison


The Audit Committee provides oversight to the conduct of the Association’s annual financial audit. Specific charges of the committee include selection of an independent accounting firm to conduct the audit, meeting (virtually) with principals of the firm to review audit procedures, reviewing the final audit report to discuss any material findings or disclosures therein, and to confirm financial compliance by AUPresses personnel. This past year, the Audit Committee did send out a Request for Proposals for auditing and chose the accounting firm of Shall and Ashenfarb as the Association’s new auditors.
Donna Shear, Nebraska, Chair
Mike Bieker, Arkansas
Alice Ennis, Illinois
Mary Francis, Pennsylvania
Jean Kim, Stanford
Kim Miller, Central Office Liaison


The Nominating Committee solicited and evaluated nominations from the entire membership for candidates for the 2020-21 Board of Directors in Fall 2019. The committee’s recommendations for President-Elect and Treasurer-Elect, and three Directors-at-Large were approved by the current Board at their March meeting and will go a vote at the May 2020 Virtual Business Meeting.
Nicole Mitchell, Washington, Chair
Richard Brown, South Carolina
Jennifer Crewe, Columbia
Greg Britton, Johns Hopkins
Joyce Harrison, Kansas
Fred Nachbaur, Fordham
Stephanie Williams, Ohio
Susan Patton, Central Office Liaison